Norfolk In A Caravan


I am off on my travels again but this time it had more of a retro feel as, for the first time in nearly eleven years, I was back caravanning with my parents. Yes, it did feel like I had gone back to being a child and I have to admit that I did get the same excited feeling as we loaded up the car and van, hooked up the towbar, checked the electrics.

photo
photo photo
photo

We then navigated our way out of the ‘caravan farm’- it is not quite a farm for just caravans as there were also some fairly huge, scary looking bulls! But it is a farm and it is where mum and dad keep their caravan, along with a few others, so it is almost a caravan farm.

Peppa (puppy) and myself got settled in the back, along with a coolbox, quilts and various other items which caused it to be a bit ‘cosy’. We then managed to get through the windy roads. We deliberated about the benefits of a printed out map vs a Sat Nav and decided that the first was better. However, after this method ended up taking us through the centre of a village not that suitable for caravans, it very quickly got demoted and we reverted back to the Sat Nav! The journey to Norfolk was great and we just needed one stop where, luckily, we found the caravan still there.

    photo

    It is always a worry that you will turn round during the journey and wonder where the van went! This stop then resulted in me and Peppa wandering around various parts of the car park and service station with Peppa trying to run away and me politely asking her to go for a wee, much to the amusement of passer-bys. Alas, Peppa didn’t go for a wee and I had to bundle her back into the car, seatbelt her in and give her a word of warning about not weeing!

    photo
    photo

    Especially as she spent most of the jouney with her bottom half sat on me. There were a few tense moments I can tell you.

    Luckily, there were no accidents and we finally arrived at the campsite. I say campsite, it was luxury compared to where we caravanned when I was younger. This is mainly because children aren’t allowed on these sort of campsites! They are called CL’s and there were only about 8 pitches set amongst the backdrop of rolling fields and an expansive, stretchy sky. The site itself had lots of chickens, horses and a miniature farm shop with everything from eggs, homemade curry to pigs ears (for Peppa not me!). It was amazing and very peaceful, apart from the occasionally military aircraft whizzing by and a few snores from fellow caravanners

    We managed to get the porch awning up although I still can’t tell if I was a hindrance or help with this as everything my dad asked me to do I couldn’t reach.Even stood on a step! I might try to see if they have less tall caravans for when I might get one. Luke won’t mind as he is still a bit in the Top Gear camp of wanting to fire caravans out of circus themed cannons and straight into a deserted mine. We have tried to limit his access to my mum and dads van.

    We enjoyed our first dinner, which was also a lot posher than what I remembered as mum produced pork and vegetables with red wine.photo

    We even had a starter of pate! It appears that, once you get rid of the children, caravanning turns into a bit more of a ‘glamping’ experience!

    It was then time for bed and there came an unusual apparent benefits of me being short…we discovered that it may be a bit too cold for the dogs in the awning or we were just being soft. Anyway, after much manoeuvring around the gorgeous van, we managed to get Pepper’s den in. It just happened to be that the only place it would fit was, very inconveniently, right in the middle of where my bed was meant to be set up. However, as I am not the longest person I ended up sleeping on one side of what should have been a spacious double bed and have now earn’t the nickname of the ‘Caravan Pixie’. Now, there has been a long tradition of me getting the short straw when it comes to sleeping arrangements including one incident when I was in what can only be described as a dog bed kept under some stairs in a room in a hotel in Amsterdam! If only I had been tall!

    It turned out to be a great night sleep, which was only disturbed by Peppa awakening and demanding to go for a wee.photo
    photo

    I took both dogs out and then we settled down to bacon sandwiches! Great way to start the day. Even better was that there was mini cereals! Now, I am a bit of a secret cereal eater, well not secret anymore, and we used to fight over who would get the Honey Nut Loops or the Nesquik Balls. This time, all I had to do was beat my dad to the cereal and I could pick whichever one I wanted. You can never turn down Shreddies or Cherrios, especially in miniature size.

    photo

    It was then time to head to the absolutely stunning  Holkham beach where the dogs had their first swim in the sea, Peppa tried to eat my sandwich right from my hand when I wasn’t looking (she is like a seagull!) and topped the day off with an ice cream and wine. Perfect!

    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo

    Leave a Reply

    