The Curious Case Of The Missing Asparagus


After having the most beautifully tasting barbecued asparagus I decided to go in search of more. I wandered aimlessly up and down the fruit and veg aisles in the local Carrefour but with no luck. Defeated, I had to return empty-handed and the asparagus was not on the menu for that evenings BBQ.

I optimistically ventured to the local morning market, in Roquebrune-Sur-Argens centre, the next day. photo

Alas, I was beaten once more as not only was there no asparagus to be had from the market, there was no market! Unfortunately, the leaflet I had picked up was incorrect (or my French was) as the market was on in the evening and not the morning. I did accidentally wander into a gorgeous shop call Bleu Citron and found balsamic vinegar, lavender biscuits, rose sea salts and mango dressing although I could have brought a lot more, like the whole shop.

photo
photo
photophoto

I then settled for a huge bowl of Salad Nicoise and a glass of cooling rose instead.

Well, it is a lot harder work searching for asparagus than I thought!photo

Again, frustratingly, there was no asparagus on the BBQ menu for that evening but we did have an unusal event. Guests! Some ex-pats who live in a local chalet joined us for dinner and gave us all the local knowledge about the area. They were lovely and full of character, which progressed as the drinks did. The lady was a crafter like myself, well I try to be, and showed me how to make my own cards. I even ended up buying a few from her! Whilst the gentleman explained why he loved France so much, except that they don’t speak our language which could prove to be a big downside!

It was off early the next morning to continue my search for the illusive asparagus as we ventured into Frejus. We stopped at the memorial park first before heading into the centre. It was a very tranquil memorial park dedicated to over four hundred people who were killed when the reservoir burst in the 1950’s. It was awful to think that it happened in such a beautiful, community based town but I felt that the memorial was a fitting tribute.

photo
photo
photo
photo
photo

It was then a change of mood when we entered the centre to, thankfully, find a bustling market.

photo
photo
photo
photo
photo
This time I had read the leaflet’s right! The market was amazing and was full of rainbow-coloured smelling soaps, colourful food and lovely bags.

    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo
    photo

    photophoto
    photo
    photo

    Yet, to my disappointment, there was no asparagus to be seen. It appears as though it has disappeared from France altogether! It is way too much to hope that they have the purple asparagus we loved so much in Indianapolis! To console myself I did manage to buy soaps, lavender, sun-dried tomatoes, nougat, a top, pesto cheese and a ginormous French themed tablecloth. It helped to sooth the disappointment somewhat and I shall keep reminding myself of this when I go to prepare yet another BBQ sans asparagus!

    Leave a Reply

    