Hello Copenhagen!


It was with a surprisingly minute bag, for me anyway, that I headed to the airport with to catch my flight to Copenhagen. The whole airport bit actually went better than I thought as I was waved through security for one of the only few times I did not set off a security alarm. I then joined with the masses for the next part of the waiting game, staring at a screen for ages until it showed which gate your flight was leaving from. I did get a bit confused as the time until my gate was ready kept flipping between five and ten minutes. I thought that I was a bit more tired than I had realised, or my eyes were no longer working, but I was relieved to hear another couple also debating this anomaly so no need to change my glasses just yet! Then, as soon as the gate popped up on the screen, it was like a version of a human wacky races, without the cars, as a large group of people scrambled to the gate. I don’t know why this happens as we all have seats but it still didn’t stop me either, well if you can’t beat them you may as well join them especially as my legs were considerably shorter than everyone else’s. The Danish are tall! As it  turned out it was better to get there early. I realised this when I boarded the plane and everyone was greeted by a flustered air hostess informing us that they had actually got the planes mixed up and we were on a shorter one! So everyone just had to find a seat anywhere, which made a lot of people unhappy as groups were separated and one woman was upset that she was not next to her husband. She could have made the most of having a bit of time by herself! However, the rest of the flight went well and it was lovely to land and be back in the airport of indoor trees, light, tall people and lovely shops.

Once I found Luke we had a bit of lunch, which tasted a bit like bark due to the wooden fork and spoon, then headed to the train. It was a lovely train journey and then a brief walk to the hotel. The walk wasn’t as lovely as my suitcase decided to not wheel straight and kept falling over, much to Luke’s and passer-by’s amusement! Yet it was worth the suitcase battle when we got to the hotel. We were staying in the Axel Hotel, which is lovely and always seems to smell like lemon oil, I am not sure how they do the continuous lemony smell but I suspect they don’t do what certain shops do and spray it through the air conditioner. It must just be naturally lemon smelling! We were also greeted with a free apple for the day and I think this is a lovely idea although I am not sure how well it would do if I was to put a sign outside my house with a free apple for the day! Maybe I will give this a miss.

    photo

    It was almost effort to leave the balcony and head into the city but I was keen to explore Copenhagen. Also, the lure of mussels and frites proved too tempting! We had a lovely walk from the hotel to Ny Have. I always think that walking is the best way of getting to know a town and seeing everywhere.

      photo

        photo

        photophoto photo

        Ny Haven was gorgeous with everyone sat outside listening to an assortment of buskers and looking out over all sorts of boats.

          photo

            photo

              photo

              photo

              We then headed back to get ready for dinner as the mussels were only a starter! Luke had said he was taking me for a surprise in the evening and he had a bit of fun when he said that we were spending the night in Tivoli Gardens amusement park, not funny! especially after my last experience in Las Vegas on the New York Hotel’s rollercoaster where I was the only one screaming in terror. Even the little kids in front were giggling at me! As it turns out, the surprise was a gorgeous meal at Restaurant Krebsegaarden. The restaurant was small and lovely with outstanding staff. Although they tried to speak to Luke in Norwegian first even though, shamefully, Luke doesn’t know any yet! Once we got over that particular hurdle we were able to order food and I had a first for me – Wild boar with honey , wild garlic and rosemary and it was delicious.

                photo

                  photo

                  This was then followed by a cheeseboard , which I was persuaded to turn into the eleven cheese cheeseboard, yes really! eleven pieces of cheese! I began to worry as they were preparing it as I wasn’t sure they realised Luke doesn’t like that sort of cheese, i.e not melted. However, when it arrived it was little pieces of cheese lovingly displayed.

                    photo

                    The lovely owner then told me about each cheese, how it was made and how I should eat them. He also informed me where to start, luckily, as I wouldn’t have had a clue! I did have to prepare myself for the last bit as he had forewarned me that it would blow my socks off! I was able to handle it although I am not sure Luke will be able to as I will smell like cheese, wild garlic and red wine for the rest of the trip! You can tell I know how to do romance! It was then an amazing walk back to the hotel as we navigated our way around the beautiful city and this proved more of a challenge after wine and food than when we had made our way to the restaurant earlier. Still, we made it back to the room. It was an absolutely fantastic start to our Copenhagen adventure! Although, at one point, a bird landed on our balcony in the middle of the night. Usually this would have been lovely but our balcony door was open, Luke was happily snoring away and this bird was scrabbling to get in. Well, Luke wasn’t happily snoring away for long I can tell you as I elbowed him awake whilst whispering about the bird on the balcony. So not only did I smell like cheese, I was also sacred of a bird and woke Luke up!

                    One comment

                    Leave a Reply

                    