Another Week, Another Home.


It’s hard to believe that we have only been in Norway for nearly two months! It feels a lot longer with everything that we have managed to fit in so far. This has included lots of new things, like taking a boat to dinner. No, we didn’t take a boat for actual diner but we had to get one to travel to the restaurant. I did think this would be really lovely and it was certainly interesting. The boat looked like a big waiting room and, although not the prettiest thing to look at, I thought that it would be a fun way to travel to dinner.

photo

What I hadn’t considered was the possibility of the boat journey being what can only be described as ‘rough’. By the time we got to the restaurant I wasn’t as hungry as when we set off, funnily enough. Then, on our way home, I was regretting eating at all as the boat precariously tipped from one side to the other. Must remember to choose my food more wisely next time!

Luckily, a few days later we moved back to ‘the big city’ so we can now just walk to a bar or restaurant and not risk the choppy waters again. Our new flat is lovely with gorgeous views. It also has a wide range of modern items, some I have no idea how they work. We even have our own candle window boxes!

photo

I am also very pleased to have a great kitchen again. Although, as you can see, I haven’t quite tested my culinary skills beyond the world’s most expensive Indian take away and Fish Finger sandwiches…

photo
photo

photo

I think I will have to don my apron soon though as I have made a horrific discovery! It has really upset me…there is no Gingerbread Men, Gingerbread Women or Gingerbread Houses anywhere!! Unless they are hiding. I will now make it my mission to introduce them to Norway. Starting with Luke’s team first. Not so sure if that will improve or worsen things for him but worth a try!

Another surprise was that it has one very cool hoover. Yes, I am well aware that this sounds a bit sad! I promise that this is not the only reason I like the flat and wasn’t the only thing I was impressed with. I was also very impressed when Luke actually used it, to hoover, and not just hang his coat on. The fact that Luke has used it is a sign of just how cool this hoover is! There has just been one mishap the flat so far, involving the shower door, in that it fell off. Whoops.

photo

I had a few days to settle in and enjoy the view of the quirky multicoloured buildings and the water before it was time to venture to another spouse’s meeting.

photo

photo

It was lovely to meet some new faces and there was lots of cake with coffee. I got to try Lefse which is a Norwegian speciality – It was lovely! However, I think I may have lost a few brownie points with some of the other ‘spouses’ though as I think I have, inadvertently, caused the organiser to sign us all up for a ‘team spouses club’ entry for a half marathon – Whoops!! that earnt me one or two evils. I just sat there quietly trying to unsuccessfully hide behind my coffee. Where’s a coffee shop bucket-like mug when you need one!

Luke and I also got to go to a house party and meet lots of people from all over the world. I had worried about what to wear and Luke was no help. We then found out, just as we had left our flat, it was ‘Bow Tie  themed’ . That set of alarm bells! I couldn’t have been more uncomfortable when we entered the flat and it was full of men wearing bow ties ( as well as suits, don’t worry, it wasn’t that kind of party!) and some fairly dressed up girls. You know the feeling you get when you walk into a party and either you’re the odd one out in fancy dress, or the muppet who forgot to wear fancy dress? Well, that was how I felt. However, everyone was really friendly and I soon relaxed, which possibly may have been helped by the wine! Towards the end of the evening I did wonder if some people were being rude as they retrieved any left over alcohol they had brought and squirreled them away. However, I found out that this was customary in Norway and everyone does this due to alcohol being so expensive. I don’t think this would go don to well at a party in the UK! I suppose it is because it is so expensive here and as one person put it “If I buy a bottle of whiskey in Norway and take it to a party, there is no way I am leaving it at the party”.

I then found out that my hopes of the spouse club organiser maybe forgetting the run were dashed as a follow-up email arrived a few days later, it appeared that my hopes had been wishful thinking. With that, I decided to go for a run. I did wonder why I was finding it difficult at first and it was only when I ran past a building displaying the time and temperature that I realised why. Not only was it ridiculously early, it was also minus 6! I suppose I will just have to get used to this whilst running in Norway – or just start running in a duvet. Although, the locals may think it is strange to just see a duvet, with a pair of trainers sticking out of the bottom, running around Aalesund early in the morning. It may have been freezing but at least the views were worth it!

photo

photo

photo

photo

I got the day to myself to get warm again as Luke ventured into new territory: Alpine Skiing. I have spent a week doing this type of skiing however, as I never managed to master the whole process of being able to stop, I decided to say in the safety of the flat. It appears I made the right decision as Luke arrived home with a bruised face and chin. He explained that he decided to go for the easy slope after getting confident on the baby one . This was, as it turned out, perhaps a bit too soon and a bit too over-confident of Luke.

It resulted in him getting misdirected onto a bit of a medium slope first, which turned out to be far too steep. Therefore, he did what was inevitable and he fell. At first I was caring until I found out that he had only stayed on the baby slope for about thirty minutes. My sympathy quickly evaporated. Honestly!

And if that wasn’t bad enough he informed me a man, who we had met at a party a few days before, was now in hospital. It got worse. He had been skiing behind Luke on the ‘steep slope’ when Luke heard a bang, turned to see him lying in the snow and this had what caused Luke to fall over. By the time he reached his friend the red cross were whisking him away. Luckily it was just a sore leg but this put Luke straight into my bad books, or the books I reserved for muppets, I haven’t quite decided. What I have decided is that I will be concentrating on cross-country skiing for now where it is usually nice and flat!

Leave a Reply

