Learning the lingo and dangerous activities


Well, what a week settling in. I have to say I never want to live in a hotel again and have a few more weeks to go but things could be a lot worse! However, after walking Luke to the boat, to make sure he gets on it to go to work,

photo

at least I get to come back to a ‘lovely’ breakfast. Even if I am there , on my own, with a very strange concoction of food to ensure I try all the local combinations.

photo

The other diners must thing I am slightly odd. Especially when I get out my kids textbook

photo

multicoloured flashcards and start muttering to myself!! In addition to perking up every time I hear anyone speak english. I think I may have to keep an eye on myself before I start following english speakers around the hotel!

Yet when I do venture out of the hotel I have been able to explore the local areas and it is beautiful. I have even discovered my new favourite restaurant called Lyst .

photo

photo

The food is delicious, the interior is all wooden, colourful and modern, it is always busy and I love the candles they put outside to welcome people in. Maybe it could be a new trend for Bollington? Although I am not sure if my street would go for that. It could be a bit obvious to any potential burglars if no one is in when the candles are not lit!

We have also ventured to the cinema. It was quite easy as it was  only with Norwegian subtitles (it was a bit like a more interesting version of my Norwegian ‘teach yourself’ lessons). However, the whole experience was a little bit odd. Think of a leisure centre that has been split into different small compartments and has had a massive tv put on the walls, which is then surrounded by squeaking curtains. Add about forty seats, if you are feeling generous, and that is pretty much the cinema. It was a little bit strange especially at one point. It was a really serious, dark, emotional part in our movie and suddenly there was a loud shout of ‘Yippie ka-ay Mother …’. Apparently, next door were watching Bruce Willis. It didn’t quite go with our film, although it did put a rather alternative slant on the scene we were watching.

The rest of the time I have been looking for a job and realising not knowing Norwegian may be more of a problem than I was told but I am learning. Slowly. All the Norwegian people are being very nice to me and really giving me time to pluck up the courage to speak to them in Norwegian, only to answer me in English. I think may have to work on my accent! I also have to work on a slight addiction I seem to have developed after a colleague suggested I try them. The item in question – Bamsemums.

photo

Yes, they may well look cute but they should come with a warning!

photo

They are a gorgeously gooey marshmallow bears covered in crispy chocolate.

photo

It got a little bit ridiculous as I worked my way through a family sized bag so, for the sake of not having to buy new clothes, I asked Luke to help wean me off them by hiding the rest of the bag. So what does Luke do to try to hide them? he sneaks around the room in a not-so-subtly way and then, when he thought he had found the perfect place, he hid them. The only problem with this is that I was still in the room, but with my eyes closed, and instead of moving stealthy I could tell where he was going and to top it all off? he really rustled the bag into the hiding place. It was a little bit of a giveaway! So alas, that particular bag of bears did not make it to the end of the week.

Luckily, we went for a death-defying walk, with one of Luke’s colleagues, in the ice up to Aksla the next day so I think I wont need new clothes just yet. It was a great walk except for the bits were there was a sheet of ice with a fairly large drop on the other side. However, we made it without slipping and got to enjoy the amazing view and have a peek in the sentry post/ pill boxes from WWII.

photo

It was then time to hug the railings on the way down as we passed a sign saying ‘slippery stairs’ and it wasn’t lying!

photo

I still am amazed none of us fell over on the way down! I just kept hugging the railings.

We survived and were able to go for a huge cross-country ski on Sunday. Well, short by Norwegian standard but huge by ours. Especially as we ae stupidly cross-country(ing) in alpine ski wear so it is like being in a sauna as soon as you clamber up your first hill. Still, it was really enjoyable. I had thought I was getting better untill I went down a particularly steep hill and fell over for my first time. Luckily, Luke was there to console me. He did this by swerving to avoid me and ending up flat on his back with the skis in the air. There is nothing like a bit of solidarity between couples! However, this act of unintentional kindness was wiped out when Luke stopped too quickly later on causing me to ski straight into the back of him, and flat on my face. I supposed I deserved that though for being secretly glad he had fallen over at the same time as me earlier on. Well, I didn’t want to be the odd one out!

There was a few more scary bits this time as we were skiing around the a lake. Well , I thought we were skiing around it and Luke and I spent a lot of time discussing whether we were skiing around the lake or on it. It wasn’t untill we passed lots of boat houses quite far away from us, and with their entrances pointing towards us, that it became crystal clear we were actually skiing on the lake. This did wonders for our skiing time as we quickly tried to get off the lake. Another near death situation, well not really near death but a small chance it could have been, was when Luke’s love of skiing down very steep hills saw him snow plough his way down one and then came the moment of realisation that the hill was cut in half by a road. This became apparent as Luke sped towards it, just as a car came driving along it. Meanwhile, I was walking sideways down the hill as I still valued my life. Luckily, the car was faster than Luke and he glided, as gracefully as one can in a snow plough, to a halt. I guess he is fearless for going down the hills, but we will try to check if there are any roads first next time.

photo

photo

photo

photo
Leave a Reply

