Thanksgiving comes early


After missing America, and chatting to a friend who happens to be half American, I decided to invite her and another friend for a pre-thanksgiving meal. However, as we had lived in Indiana I decided to make an unconventional thanksgiving meal and chose Maple-Mustard Pulled Pork for dinner. I used the recipe from BBC Good Food website.

Ingredients

200g Sea-Salt

300g Light Brown Sugar

2kg Pork Shoulder

100 ml Maple Syrup

100g Wholegrain Mustard

English Mustard Powder

  1. Mix the sea salt and 200g of the sugar in a large food bag, add the pork and coat it well. (If you don’t have a bag, rub over the pork in a dish and cover with cling film.) Leave in the fridge overnight.
      photophoto

        photo

          photo
        • The next day, remove the pork and wipe down the meat with kitchen paper. Heat oven to 140C/120C fan/gas 1. Mix the remaining sugar, the maple syrup, mustards and some ground pepper. Rub half the mixture over the pork and sit it on a rack in a roasting tin. Roast for 6 hrs.photo
            photo

              photo

                photo
                • photo

                    photo

                    Spoon the remaining maple mixture over the pork and roast for 1 hr more.

                      photo
                    • Rest the meat for 30 mins on a plate loosely covered with foil. To serve, tear the pork into big fat chunks and, after skimming the surface, spoon over any juices from the tin.
                        photo

                          photo

                        I also managed to rustle up some Pumpkin Bread

                          as I eagerly awaited the arrival of my friends who , when they arrived, were full of bags and legs. I had forgotten just how tall they were. I began to have a glimpse into what Hobbit‘s may feel like, which has begun to happen more regularly, as I was surrounded by each friend who are nearly a foot taller than me each! My home had become filled with tall people. I was almost tempted to bring my steps along for the first venture. This could have proved a useful weapon , or an aid to leap over any available hedge, as, during a ramble over to the local pub, we were being followed by very scary cows. I had wanted to show my friends, from more smokey industrial places, the charms of the country. What I hadn’t accounted for was the menacing, possibly evil, cows. Yes, really, they were terrifying for things that my friend says just “poop and make milk”, think of the menacing cows in the advert where they are wanting their milk back and that was these cows, but somewhat less friendlier. I was just glad my tall friends came in handy as I was a coward and hid behind them. However, all of this was forgotten once we were sat in front of a roaring fire with a very large glass of wine… or two..

                          After a few more glasses it was time to head back to see if the pork was nearly pulled. I was worried at first it looked more like a big piece of charcoal however, thankfully, once it was ‘pulled’ it looked right. I then served it with Aunt Jemina’s corn bread, maple glazed carrots and green beans. The corn bread was the oddest way I have ever made bread before.

                            photo

                              photo

                                photo

                                  photo

                                  All I had to do was add an egg and milk to the bag, shake it then pour the mixture into cardboard tray that had arrived in the box. it all seemed a little bit lazy however the result was very tasty and I was pleasantly surprised.

                                    photo

                                      photo

                                        photo

                                        We then vegged out on the sofa with  a few American choccies and saturday night TV.

                                          photo

                                          Then Luke decided to make his own contribution in the morning by making pancakes…

                                            photo

                                            Can you imagine if  I had taken him up on his offer to cook the pork!? Howver, I must admit my attempt was no better. Luckily, I had an emergency set. They were scotch but, really, what is the difference? I served this with croissants, bacon and pumpkin bread. I then banished the incredibly tall people from my house (this banishment was sweetened with a loaf of pumpkin bread and cinnamon teddies), and began to feel like a normal sized person again. Untill I had to use my steps to reach something on the top shelf.

                                            Leave a Reply

                                            