Moving Home and Enjoying The New Neighbourhood In The English Countryside


It was a surprisingly mammoth task moving house considering all of our belongings fitted into one room. We hired a van and loaded it up and went off to our new home. Luckily my brother was on hand to help and was rewarded with the biggest fish and chips ever and, for all the Americans, yes this did include mushy peas, curry sauce and gravy! After we had got all that fuel we then spent the next two days unpacking, going to Ikea and building furniture.  I think I may have to enter Luke for a flat pack competition as he is a pro now. One item in particular proved invaluable, the steps. This was because we discovered I could not reach any of the high shelves without it, it is almost like being a hobbit in a normal sized house!

Amazingly, we fully furnished the house in two days after staying up for pretty much 48 hours, which I never want to do again. There was also a ridiculous amount of cutlery which has proved invaluable and came from Luke’s great aunty. There were things I had never seen before including an egg piercer and slicer! Now my salads will look uber posh, or it will look like I have spent far too much time perfectly slicing eggs…

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
We are also now the proud owners of an apple tree so all I have to do is go to the front garden pick a few apples and hey presto, there is a few apple scones or a crumble. It is like being in the Good Life! Well, when I say that is all I have to do I usually send Luke for fear of any lurking spiders as I am a coward when it comes to those. One night I saw one that looked like a black widow (honestly) in the lean-to and then it was Luke who had to do all the jobs in their for the next few days. Conveniently that meant he had to do the all of the cleaning and all of the clearing of excess cardboard…

However , our manic unpacking and building things meant that we had time left during our holiday (yes, I know, what a relaxing holiday!)  to explore our new neighbourhood from our old little cottage. We borrowed my parents dog for the walk and I think we may have actually managed to tire her out. At one point, as we carried her over the final gate (yes really, she hasn’t mastered them herself yet), she struggled to remain being carried and was reluctant to have her paws touch the ground. Tuh I should have just borrowed one of the paragliders and hitched a lift down the hill for her.

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
Leave a Reply

