This Little Blogger Went To The Market


I decided to brave the cold, and the bits of torrential rain, and head to the Wilmslow Artisan Market. This was after trying to pick up a few pancake tips from Saturday Morning Kitchen. Somehow I don’t think I will have the same panache as James Martin and there is a strong, very strong, possibility my pancakes will end up stuck to the ceiling or on top of my head. I know this from previous experience but maybe this year will be different?

The market was bustling and there was the tantalising smell of barbecue in the air. It is, possibly, one of my favourite smells. I think it is even better on a cold day. There is just something about smelling fried onions and cooked meat whilst being enveloped in crisp, cold air. I think people should have many more winter barbeques. However, one huge problem with this brilliant idea became apparent later on as it began to snow. That could, quite possibly, have put a dampener on any barbeques.

The Market was just lovely. There was a vast array of food and I somehow managed to buy the majority of it. My purchases ranged from freshly baked bread, enormous savoury eggs with different flavours, wholesome pies, dim-sum, ginger fudge, dark sumatra flavoured chocolate, vegetarian nutroasts, freshly made pate and colourful jams. See I told you I had brought a lot! In my defence, I had taken my parents with me and they weren’t shy about delving into each stall and buying lots of goodies as well.

Here are just a few pictures of my venture to the market. I could just see something like the meatloaf bakery working well at this market. Now there’s an idea? Although, at points people had to hold down their stalls as it was quite windy. I would need a big ladder just to reach the top!

photo
photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
For a list of all the vendors at the market, and to find out the date of the next one, please go to http://www.theartisanmarket.co.uk/
4 comments

    • Thank you. I shall certainly be going to the next market. I am so pleased to find such a good market. After exploring many in America and Europe it is such a joy to have such a fabulous one on my doorstep. You must be very proud of all the hard work everyone puts in to it. What a great range of produce and crafts! It is the perfect place to spend a few hours.

      Lucy

Leave a Reply

