It’s BeginningTo Feel A Bit Like…


Well, I think preparations for Christmas are officially underway now. My thoughts on this were solidified as I watched a car pulling a trailer along followed by an assortment of people in Santa hats playing carols. This wasn’t just any trailer. This contained Santa himself waving to everyone as he passed. This was swiftly followed by an evening watching Kirstie Alsop do lots of Christmassy things, including making candy canes and various decorations. I thought to myself if she can do all that it is about time I rolled up my elf sleeves and got to work transforming my parents house into a Christmas wonderland much to my parent’s amusement, or it could have been despair, I am never exactly sure which of these emotions they display when I begin to start another project.

This project saw me up to my ears de-tangling various Christmas tree decorations, fairy lights and re-stringing an assortment of baubles. I almost wished I hadn’t begun this Christmas mission as I got myself in a muddle and almost strangled myself with a particularly tenacious knotted string of beads. However, I battled on and managed to come through the other end with all of the beads untangled and still breathing. A few days later I was able to use them to decorate a not-so-straight Christmas tree which I just had to have. My dad guessed straight away that I had chosen this one and not Luke. He will never know if I did this on purpose to then sit back and watch ,somewhat bemused, as he and Luke had to work out how to make it straighter with a saw. I did suggest they use a chainsaw but , as dad pointed out, he is not a lumberjack and does not own one. Maybe I was in America too long? I then set about making the stairway and front door look invitingly Chirstmassy. It is not quite Santa’s grotto but I am getting there. It is just a shame I can find any reindeer or sleighs for the garden. Maybe next year?

photov

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

 

Instead, I consoled myself over the lack of said sleigh and reindeer by arranging bowls of clementines and cinnamon sticks, writing Christmas cards and filling a present sack with presents. Most importantly, I have managed to get my hands on a sacred Poinsettia, which is a key item in our house that symbolises the beginning of the ‘holidays’. In between these bursts of Christmas spirit I almost permanently damaged all muscles in my legs during a particularly tough gym class led by a ruthlessly smiley fitness instructor. I can never understand how they can just smile their way through the class while all the members begin to drop like flies as their body begins to protest after the millionth squat. I never want to do another lunge or squat ever again, well untill the next class. Oh well, it is all in the name of Christmas as it means I can tuck into more Mince Pies in my own mini rebellion.

I started off this mini rebellion with gusto by cooking a Mascarpone and Jam Victoria Sponge Cake for my wonderful granddad’s birthday. I have to say even I was rather surprised with how well it turned out.

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

It appears that the days of making a Victoria Sponge Cake that comes out resembling an oversized squashed cookie, even when split in half and filled, are long gone. Although maybe I am tempting fate with this presumption. However, I was able to revel a little bit in this cake triumph and I just hope the birthday boy enjoyed it as well. It was then back to training to be one of Santa’s elves with some strategically placed decorations. Yet I fear the angels won’t last all of Christmas as they will have to outlast a dog that likes to chew things and a mini army of festive goers as they try to navigate the stairs whilst in a merrily drunken state, which is always brought on a few weeks before Christmas.

photo

photo

It seems that it will be a survival of the fittest for these little angels.

Leave a Reply

