Burning Autumn Leaves!


After recovering from our jaunt to Nashville we settled in and watched a film on Friday accompanied by some fish pie (please see making and baking etc page).

photo
It was the perfect friday night. Then after a slight mishap on Saturday with tensions frayed we all came back together to have a completely over-the-top, over indulgent dinner. That is the last time I shall go shopping with Luke and Sarah! They managed to sneak all the things into the trolley that I usually never buy. Now I know what it is like to go shopping with children. At least none of them had a temper tantrum on the floor!

After somehow managing to convince Sarah that Luke can drive his car remotely by sitting in the back and using his phone (she is not a driver herself) we returned to Riley accompanied by burgers, hot dogs, rolos, kitkats, bread rolls, onion rings, chips, candy apples and cheese squares. We got a film to watch during our mammoth feast and I could not move for quite a few hours after. I did think I had nearly lost my burger after Sarah dropped it in the oven, cheese slice down onto the heated pipes. It was then a quick emergency rescue involving Sarah, Luke and myself to retrieve the fallen burger and all was well. It just needed some patch up surgery using the tools of ketchup and cheese slices and it was perfect.

photo

photo
Still feeling full we made it out for a run after Sarah, who obviously has not read my Elevator Etiquette, exited the lift the wrong way much to the amusement of the people remaining in the lift. The run wasn’t so good as I had cramp but we got to have a nice walk before heading to the lively Broad Ripple Village. We settled in at the Three Sisters Cafe and carried on with our mammoth eating session with much better food. I had the ‘King of Siam‘,
photo
mum had ‘Steve and Linda’s’,

photo
Luke had the standard turkey club and Sarah had a mushroom burger. It was a struggle not to get take out boxed before heading to Zionsville to show everyone the christmas shop. There was then a quick stop at our place of worship, seeing as it was Sunday, and we picked up a few treats from The Fresh Market.
photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
Including making our own peanut and almond butter!

photo

photo

photo
We then retreated to Indy, Listening to Bluegrass music thanks to Luke, and settled in with a salad and DVD.

It was back to working times on Monday so Sarah and I staggered our visits to the gym, which confused the reception man as Sarah came in after me asking where the gym was. Bearing in mind we look similar, I come in every day and chat to the man and I had already arrived earlier. No wonder he was confused! I came back earlier and had a coffee with mum. It was over coffee we noticed a burning leaves smell. I poked my head out of the balcony to make sure it was from outside and I thought it was. We then had breakfast when Sarah returned and when she nipped outside she discovered my plant pot was quietly smoking away as the eaves had caught fire. Aha, that was the burning leaves smell! Sarah had set my plant pot on fire! It was then a quick formation of a water chain to put it out.

photo
No one wants a fire on the 22nd floor! We then left Sarah in the flat without any flammable item and had a wonder down Mass Ave before returning for a jacuzzi and sauna.

It was a quick plate of pasta once Luke returned and then it was time to hit Walmart with a toffee apple for the road.

photo
photo
Having persuaded Luke not to buy a baby grow for himself or anyone else, Mum and Sarah brought enough candles to open their own shop!
photo
Luke then had to buy a new can of soup for himself as Sarah had pinched his at lunch, without adding the water to it so no wonder it tasted odd! Then Mum had picked out a pumpkin for me, which somehow ended up in the lady in fronts bags so we then had to do an exchange to retrieve our dollar pumpkin with mum singing ‘I need a dollar’ in my ear the whole time. Typical! It was then off home and a chance to explain to mum that the steam vents were not hot water springs! I don’t know where she thinks we live. Luke decided he needed something to cope with all the oestrogen so he played this song- (o) and headed to the only place that would provide him with a remedy, and quiet time. Yogulatte.

Here, after showing mum that she actually need the yoghurt in the pot and not all over the floor, we settled down with an array of yoghurt and toppings. There was even a pumpkin flavour! heaven.

photo
Yet as the yoghurt melted and I finished off the remaining slush and my saved pieces of cookie dough (as you always save the best till last) I remembered that this will be my last Yogulatte and I melted a bit with it. I will definitely miss those pots of goodness. We then got to witness a fender-bender from the perfect vantage point on our balcony. It was there I left mum and Sarah absorbed with the goings on below. They were particularly excited as the fire engine pulled up.
photo

photo
I left them too it and began re-working my suitcase or the tenth time.
Leave a Reply

