He Is Not Staying!!


I have to be honest here and admit to doing something I inherently dislike. Lying to my Mother. I also had to lie to my sister which I don’t like doing.  Yet, sometimes, it doesn’t quite seem as bad as lying to my mum. In my defence it was a nice lie and one I can not believe they actually believed. I told them that it was a legal requirement for everyone in Indiana to keep an overnight bag in their car at all times in case of a tornado. My sister was puzzled as to why she would need a pair of knickers and a toothbrush in the event of a tornado and why a police officer would tell her off for not having these items. Nevertheless they appeared to believe it. I had told them this lie because I had booked an overnight stay in Nashville (IN) as their surprise early Christmas present.  However, I had to let them know at breakfast on Thursday Morning as I remembered that the room had a whirlpool in it. I thought that I would be pushing my luck if I told them it was also the legal requirement to carry a swimming costume wherever you went in case of a tornado. Although maybe I could have gotten away with it? Lied and said it was something to do with having to shelter in a bath?

So, after  taking my sister on a run around Indianapolis in the freezing rain and wind because I am so nice!, we had good breakfast of scones and the remains of my pumpkin bread and it was here I unvieled the surprise, over a mouthfull of scone. I left my mum researching Brown County and took my sister to the local supermarket to have a look around and to collect some goodies for lunch.

photo

photo
With soup and salad secured we had a bit more of a relaxed afternoon of reading and napping before our taxi driver (also known as Luke) returned from work to whisk us away to Nashville.  We had time to pack our bags before setting off on the hour drive to Nashville through beautiful countryside, gorgeously golden leafy trees and thankfully no tornadoes as I had been worried that I had just tempted fate. We then arrived in the quaint village, which felt like being on a film set of an American movie. We went to check in at the hotel and had a funny moment with the receptionist as we were all insisting that Luke was not staying. She was even informing Luke he wasn’t staying by the end of our conversation. Poor Luke! No, tonight he was just the driver although he did get a delicious dinner out of it. Before this dinner we located our suite. Yes, a suite! Turns out our ‘room’ was a living room, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom containing two magnificently grand sleigh beds.

photo

photo

photo

photo
It was perfect! It was almost a hardship to leave the room to go to dinner in the hotel’s restaurant. Untill they brought out the salad and a box of crackers, which were extremely addictive.
photo
photo
Followed by a steak and brown sugar glazed sweet potato.
photo
Then, funnily enough, it was no hardship at all.

We said a quick goodbye to luke as it was straight back to the suite for drinks in the whirlpool followed by a few hours watching Hocus Pocus before retreating to the most comfy sleigh beds imaginable. It was extremely hard to get out of bed in the morning but luckily mum was on hand to kickstart us with a mug of super strong coffee from our little kitchen. We then waited as long as possible before leaving the room for a buffet breakfast of biscuits, gravy, pancakes, cakes, scrambled eggs, porridge and crispy bacon.

photo

photo

photo
We then left one suitcase with reception and began our mystical tour of Nashville. There were lots of little boutiques everywhere but in the beginning all mum was interested in was getting photographs of American cars for my dad!

photo
However, the lure of the fudge, popcorn, craft and candle shops proved to much of a distraction. We managed to buy lots of these things except candles. We indulged in various flavours of popcorn including peanut butter and jam, honey mustard and strawberry. It was here that we got to watch them making fudge and caramel apples. We tried to grab a caramel apple later on but there was none to be had anywhere! We were very disappointed. I guess that is always why you should get something you want when you see it!

photo

photo
Then we got some nice fudge to eat whilst sitting in the sunshine in a little square outside of the winery.

photo

photo
It was a perfect fall day and I couldn’t have asked for a nicer day or better company.
We all loved looking around the shops and the window displays. Although we had a few bags and I was worried I would break something! Luckily I think the only damage I did was knocking a plug out of its socket causing the window display’s fairy lights to cease shining.
photo

photo

photo
We even got to find a scrapbook shop although the whole process of making one is very perplexing to me and something I will get a chance to try and figure out due to a lovely early christmas present form my sister. There was also a very interesting dog bakery (of course!) and they even sold cigars for dogs! As long as they were over eight weeks old.
photo

photo
However my favourite were the doggie gingerbread men. They looked so good that even I was tempted by one!
photo
Don’t worry I resisted both, just about, but I almost couldn’t resist leaving my mum in one of the rocking chairs on a fantastic trinket stores porch or possibly on this bench with my sister

photo
but I thought people may miss them so I retrieved them before moving onto look at some other fantastic places.

photo

photo

photo

photo
photo
I was incredibly tempted to leave my mum here, as it was a teacher’s boarding house but she was saved by a cinnamon ice cream.
photo
We were then scooped up by Luke and driven back through the scenic part of Brown County. After meandering back through what must be the only hilly part of Indiana that I have seen so far i began to make a fish pie for dinner and we snuggled down to watch Jane Eyre. We also, finally , got to have our caramel apples on a stick after Luke thoughtfully brought some back with him. Although we repaid him by making him watch Jane Eyre. Maybe that wasn’t entirely fair on him.
Leave a Reply

