The LuLus Head To The Windy City


I started off my morning in a much more Russian way than I had anticipated with a shot of vodka. This was an honest mistake and a complete accident. I mistook the water bottle I had placed some vodka in for actual, real water. I got quite a shock I can tell you as my throat began to burn. However, it did mean that I was much happier to begin our road trip to the windy city. We set off with flasks of hot tea and coffee and a cup holder full of starbursts in tow but no more alcohol.

photo

photo
Yet the throat burning mistake did have the slight advantage of helping me go straight to sleep once I was snuggled in the car with my seat warmer on. Much to the annoyance of Luke as I blissfully snored away whilst he was having to keep awake in order to drive. At least there are some perks to not being allowed to drive in America not only am I always the designated drinker but I get to sleep as well and I did both of this roles quite successfully that morning.

We made one stop to get petrol and Luke found out, after repeatedly trying to fill the car up, that it did not take petrol. It did in fact take diesel and I was more than a little bit smug when I was the one to point this out to him after he kept on trying to make the petrol pump work. I had kept quiet until he resorted to reading the car manual. It was at this point that I just had to suggest using the diesel pump. I soon lost this smugness as we realised that Chicago is an hour behind Indiana and I was the one who had suggested having an early start. This early start meant we were going to arrive well before anything opened. Whoops! Yet I reclaimed the smugness again, it is a constant battle, after Luke ended up getting us lost driving through a steel works factory. With no end in sight I had nothing to do but admire the buildings and wonder if this is what a rat in a maze feels like. However, we eventually made it our of the mills and headed into the city.

We had a lovely drive by the shoreline, listening to a spot of Sinatra, and then ventured to the Museum of Science and Industry. Here we got to explore an old german submarine, my ideal eco house and then I made another mistake of the day by agrreing to go on a flight simulator, with just me and Luke. I knew it wasn’t going to be good when the assistant told me I could get a prize if I knew what people said on Halloween. My mouth answered for me before my brain had time to engage and I heard the words “Happy Halloween” echo around the room before my brain piped up with “Trick or Treat“. Well, Luke and the assistant fell about laughing and needless to say I did not receive the bonus prize. Instead we got to go on a two-man plane with Luke being the pilot and I was in charge of the guns. I realised just how big this mistake was when I was dangling upside down with my legs flailing and Luke informing me that he really does quite like flying upside down. He continued to fly upside down despite my insistent protest to ‘turn me back round’. We emerged safely from the pod although my hair looked like I had been swept through a hedge backwards.

photo
We then got to sit in a non-moving plane before leaving the museum to check in at out hostel.
photo

photo
It was the off to The Bourgeoise Pig for a huge sandwich before we explored a bit of Lincoln Park.

photo
photo
photo
We then bravely went to Magnificent Mileand indulge in chocolate and shops.

photo

photo
Unfortunately, the Redhead Piano Bar was very quiet so we retreated to the hostel for some drinks and a picnic. This time I was pleased to have vodka instead of water! We managed to get to sleep and were up early the next morning to further indulge ourselves with bagels before setting off on a mammoth trek through the old part of Lincoln Park and carried on going all the way to the bean (Cloud Sculpture).

photo

photo
Along the way we had a Starbucks and even though it was freezing I choose a frappacino, don’t ask me why but I then subsequently got brain freeze and I only have myself to blame. We then followed a trail along a very odd bridge and made it to Navy Pier.

photo
It was then a quick dash back to the hostel so that we could drive to the airport to collect our V.I.G (Very Important Guests)
Leave a Reply

