Burlesque, Limos And Bringing The Pumpkins To Life


After a day finishing my secret sewing mission I was invited out for one quick drink with Luke and his colleagues. Well, you know when you are invited out for one quick drink that there is the distinct possibility it will be neither quick or just the one. As it turns out this is exactly what happened. So, quite a few drinks later we were still sat in the beer garden listening to some live music surrounded by a sea of red t-shirts due to a local Lilly fundraising day. Then after we all decided that enough drinks had been finished, especially on a work night, we escaped back home.

I felt very glad I did not have to go out to work on Friday and instead began the long process of beginning to pack all my belongings so I will be ready to leave Indianapolis in a few weeks.  It was a fairly sad process so I cheered myself up by a trip to Yogulatte with Luke and we sat on the wall, swinging our legs and just enjoying the beautiful colours of the autumn leaves.

photo
Then we indulged even more with a cupcake from the Sweet Tooth Bakery. It was deliciously greedy of us.

photo

photo
We were then all set for a night in watching The Mentalist but we were lured away by something far more exciting. There was a food truckfestival below our balcony with an assotment of vans and delicacies.

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
However, what was more interesting was  when we saw a sign for the Angel Burlesque show so we thought why not? It was something new so we tootled along and got tickets. We then descended into the depths of the Murat Theatre and were led through an entrance coverded in a white drape and were seted at a candel lit table.

photo
It was in a room which reminded me of the cabaret and it began to become full. The show was was a lot more funny than I though it would be. The women were so confident and had come up with some original sets, such as a mime artist and a ‘Where’s Wally?’ performance (or ‘Where’s Waldo’ as the Americans call it).

photo
Now that is something I never quite pictured Wally doing.

After that new experience we decided to add personalities to our pumpkins

photo
before heading to some more familiar territory on Saturday with a trip to the mall to get Luke’s early birthday present. We had to drive through the protests that have spilled over from New York to head to the mall for the present. With that purchased and a few more intended items, we did our customary walk around the food court to nibble on some samples before heading for a huge dinner at the Three Sisters Cafe. We sat out on the porch and enjoyed some huge sandwiches and various potatoes. I was then very glad that we had such a big dinner as we decided to go for some drinks with the other grads. This once again led to many more drinks and we ended up in The Wild Beaver with far too many shots

photo

photo
It was here that we met a group of Americansand were randomly invited to join them on their night out. This meant getting a limo, yes a real limo with alcohol supplied and everything, to another bar around the corner.

photo
Yes this felt very lazy to me but we got to be lazy in style! The girls were lovely and it was a really enjoyable night out, although we found it difficult to explain why we didn’t get limos on our nights out in the UK. We explained that we walked or got taxis but they wondered if this was because we were poor? I couldn’t imagine having a limo on hire to take us to various bars every time we went out. Maybe I should try this next time I have a night out in the UK?

Unfortunately, I realised just how much we had drunk the next day and we spent all day on the sofa. Well I did. I sort of sent Luke out on errands for me which included picking up a huge Subway. Not just any Subway but a footlong. My hangover required it and it was just the cure for any hangover.

photo
I then formerly added our two new members to the LuLu’s by lsetting them on fire. Don’t worry, this isn’t how I treat all newcomers. It was only the pumpkins!

photo

Leave a Reply

