Let The Dinners Comence


Having acquired my pumpkin, but I am yet to decide on its personality, I launched myself in to my next project. Bring on the sewing! I must be a glutton for punishment but here I am again surrounded by little squares and armed with a needle and thread. However, my thumbs did take some respite when I made some Rye bread. Yet, in the end, I wished I hadn’t bothered as an hour later I produced a rock hard, dense loaf that had nowhere to go but the bin. Oh dear , I felt a little bit embarrassed about my cooking debacle as it made a horrendous thudding down the rubbish shoot. Luckily, the bad cooking streak didn’t last as I ‘cooked’ off a week of fantastic dinners, and even better company, with a pizza night in my flat.

It was lovely to have everyone over as I haven’t seen them all since  before I went away! There had been a few questions directed at Luke as to what he had done with me so it was also my chance to prove I was still very much alive. So, after procuring some chairs and plates from another flat we all created our pizzas with various toppings and sat down to enjoy them. Well, all except one but I made sure I saved some cheesecake for him as the others actually liked it! Surprising after I informed them what was in it but it was actually rather good. Unlike the Rye bread but that debacle doesn’t need to be mentioned again. There was then an odd procession of people carrying various items such as chairs, pizzas and drinks across the hallways and down the lifts as we said  a prolonged goodbye and looked forward to ‘Indian Night’ at another friends, or what he affectionately referred to as ‘Gandhi’s revenge’, which worried and puzzled me somewhat.

All was revealed when we entered his flat the next night and were created by a lovely fragrant smell from the kitchen and caught a glimpse of huge pans of rice and sauce. We waited eagerly to try the drumsticks, biryani and then a deliciously sweet pudding called kheer. Before we got to eat we heard about my other friends dilemma with a ladybird invasion in her flat over a bowl of bombay mix.

photo
With all of us clueless as to how to deal with ladybirds we still hadn’t found a solution so we tucked into a delicious feast that had obviously taken a lot of effort to make, which was greatly appreciated The chicken was very tasty and not dry,

photo
the biryani was the perfect level of hotness

photo

photo

photo
and I have yet to get my taste budsaround the pudding.

photo
Is it more like porridge, pasta, muesli or warm cinnamon milk? who knows but luckily I went away with a box of it so I can keep trying to make up my mind. It’ll be a hard task but I am sure I will get through it.

photo
It was then a day of removing the last straws of hay in my bag after our trip to the pumpkin patch and then beginning to sew on my balcony again. Isn’t it funny how things seem to come around in a full circle as I spent most of my first weeks sat on the balcony sewing. This time it was a little cooler but still very pleasant. I’m not so sure I can say the same about the sewing as I managed to get the needle stuck in various thumbs and fingers repeatedly. This hurt. A lot. Finally I was rescued, eventually, by the prospect of another lovely dinner tonight and another friends. She was cooking lasagna and apple pieso I couldn’t wait. I made a quick garlic flatbread roulade thing to take with me and we began a familiar process of transferring chairs, plates and cups across to the other flat.

photo
We got to admire a beautiful Indianasky.

photo

photo

photoThen we were joined by a newbie who was fresh from the plane and tucked into a gorgeous vegetable lasagna, which was delicious especially as she had never made it before.
photo

photo

photo
Then the apple pie was perfect, it even had a crumble topping!

photo
Afterwards we all departed in dribs and drabs with an assortment of items and I managed to walk out of the flat with some hazelnut syrup for my morning’s coffee. Fabulous! It may just help spur me on to finish my sewing. Maybe. So we have had a perfect set of dinners and great company yet along the way I have managed to loose a part of one of my teeth. I now have everything crossed that I do not develop toothache before I get back to the UK! Oh well, the meals were definitely worth it.
Leave a Reply

