A Roll In The Hay And A Pumpkin Patch


So after the scare yesterday it seemed only natural to do a bit of ‘window’ Christmas shopping. It was a lovely sunny day, but cold. Yet even the sun didn’t prevent me and Luke having a wobble so I retreated to sit in an egg for a few hours untill I was a little bit calmer. Don’t worry, I didn’t escape to some magical land. I had escaped to the library for a bit of peace and quiet. Who said shopping, with a partner, was stress free?

Fortunately we reconciled and promised not to go shopping together for a while. A long while. We turned the rest of the day into a positive few hours with a lovely meal of fish and sweet potato wedges and watched some episodes of The Mentalist. This morning continued to be positive when Luke made me a lovely breakfast and I’m happy to report that he chose the right bagel today. No sweet bagel and scrambled egg nonsense this time. We then came up with the plan of making the most of the glorious sunshine and go in search of a pumpkin, as you do. Well we had to keep up with the Halloween theme that we began on Friday, didn’t we? The good mood almost ended as we were transferring our recycling box to the car. The lift doors opened. Luke made a move forward with the box. The lid flew off and lots of bottles spilled out. There was a particularly awkward pause as we glanced into the lift and saw a bemused couple who didn’t know what to do. We insisted that they leave without us. I almost abandoned ship as well but I didn’t think Luke would take that too well. He just about tolerated my burst of laughter and my helpful input of how he should have held the box. I then had to remain silent, well silently giggling to myself, for the beginning of our pumpkin search after Luke had told me to ‘pipe down’. Whoops.

We whizzed through a drive thru bank

photo
and then our search took us to Stonycreek Farm which was filled with pumpkins, people, scarecrows and various activities. As well as a huge sign indicating we had discovered the right place.
photo
We decided to prioritize and jumped on the back of a tractor pulled, hay-covered ride to the magical pumpkin patch.

photo
photo
After a near accident where the tractor set off too quickly splitting a family in half we were off. We arrived at the patch and began our delicate mission of finding the perfect pumpkin. We decided to get one each so that we wouldn’t squabble over who would carve the pumpkin or what sort of face. We are such children!

photo
photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
I hadn’t realised how painstaking it was to find that perfect pumpkin. As we trawled the patch we each kept an beady eye out for that perfect one. I was looking for something smallish whilst Luke was drawn to the enormous ones. Then it happened. I glanced into one of the openings between the Christmas trees and I just knew. I had found it. I had found my pumpkin. I vaulted over the other pumpkins to seize mine before anyone else. My pumpkin and I then joined Luke who was accompanied by his own, more circular pumpkin.

photo

photo

With the new additions to the LuLu family we hopped back on our jaunt on the hay ride and returned to the hub of the farm where we stowed our pumpkins

photo
and decided to get some lunch.
photo
We shared a dinner for one and it is a good thing we did!

photo
They were enormous! I finally found a pulled pork sandwich I liked and I got to have some macaroni cheese so that is a few things ticked of my to do list before I leave. The others our procuring a Starbucks via a drive in, going bowling, cooking a thanksgiving dinner and nibbling some cookies and milk. I am easily pleased! I was certainly pleased with our lunch, which we enjoyed sat outside basking in the blissfully warm sun. It was then off for our next adventure in a hay maze. This maze actually proved to be more aimed at children but we carried on and we entered the maze through a spooky doorway.
photo
We found our way along the path carved out in the hay bales. Now, I could almost see over the top which just shows how we were probably just a little bit too old to be in the maze. Still it was fun. I had almost got over any embarrassment about being in a childs maze but then Luke offered to take a picture. He snapped once and then in one swift move he kicked hay all over me and took another at the same time. Even I was surprised by this sudden dispaly of multi tasking!
photo
I began to chide him whilst he was picking the hay off me. I was still strewn with hay and looking more like a scarewoman when we rounded the corner and happened to bump into the only other adult in there. Typical. I instantly knew what he was thinking and I was proved right when he remarked “Rolling in the hay, hey?”. He then disappeared into the hay bales roaring with laughter as I turned bright red and demanded Luke remove any other strands of hay from me before I had to face the group of parents waiting outside the exit.

I kept my head down and walked swiftly out of the maze and we headed to the gift shop. We almost brought a Mr Potato Head pumpkin but we decided two were enough. I was already worried they might be difficult to carve as last year I had to take a hammer to one to crack it open. We then descended on the candle making hut and made a candle each to go into our pumpkins. I struggled to line my wax up just right but I was quite pleased with my results.

photo
I could give Yankee a run for their money. Perhaps. Well maybe after a bit more practice. With our new hand-made products we ventured to get a dessert. It would have been rude not to so we ended up sharing a cinnamon rich apple dumpling and a plate of gooey, caramel apple slices.

photo
Then feeling a bit of a sugar high we left the farm. I adjusted my seat into a booster seat position so I could see out of the windscreen of the new jeep (thankfully this one has a very secure, very permanent roof) and I popped the seat heaters on. It was then a quick stop at the shops, after driving through a pro-life rally, and we brought our pumpkins home. Luke then disappeared for a drink. I subtly ensured he did as I had a strawberry, tofu popcorn cheesecake to make. It tastes, I hope, much better than it sounds! (please see my making etc page). For this I really needed to concentrate. Well not as much as I should have as I cheated. I can not believe it but I actually brought a pre-made crust! I know, I know, I feel ashamed too but the filling took some effort so I am not feeling as guilty.

photo
However, as a sort of self punishment I have launched into three more secret sewing projects! I must be mad. This time I shall wear protective thumb guards!
Leave a Reply

