Pancakes, Doggie Biscuits and A Walk In The Park.


So it was back to Indy. Luke picked us up in the pouring rain and we slid back to Riley Towers. I gave Liz a quick tour and the standard initiation of standing on the balcony to admire the view. Everyone who comes to our flat has to do this and she did remarkably well for a girl who does not like heights. Therefore, I decided she was alright to stay. It was then straight to bed and I got back into a semi-normal routine by starting the morning with a lovely run. It was a very crisp morning so it was the perfect wake up tool.

I then went back and set up some breakfast for Liz, including the pumpkin bread and breakfast muffins I made one day last week. Forward planning saves so much time! When I can remember to do it that is. Once we were a bit more awake I took Liz on a micro tour of Indianapolis. This included a trip to my beloved farmer’s market where Liz managed to pick up a huge, delicious crepe.

photo
It was then off to my favourite place, via the Soldiers Monument. This was of course the library. I approached this building with trepidation as I was worried Liz may think I had been far too over enthusiastic about its charming qualities. I was relieved when she liked the building enough to even capture a few pictures but maybe she was being very polite! Either way I am grateful.

We bobbed home before having a lovely coffee. It was then a quick dip in the Jacuzzi before parking ourselves in front of a table full of nibbles whilst watching Titanic. Watching it with Liz and Luke turned it into a little bit of a comedy sketch as they tried to force me to do the heart of the ocean scene where the old lady throws the necklace into the ocean. Luckily I could not be moved to our balcony. Yet I blame myself. I was the one silly enough to wear a heart-shaped necklace. I should have guessed these two would seize on this golden opportunity. Next time I watch this there will be no hearts within the immediate vicinity except for mine of course. Alternatively there will be neither a  Liz or a Luke close by.

Saturday began with brunch and we headed out into the wilderness of Indiana. Well we went for a walk in Eagle Creek Park but we did see a Deer so it was like the a well paved version of wilderness.

photo
It is such a lovely place to walk around. Especially as the leaves are in that beautiful stage of changing colour so there was an array of them just hanging like sparkling jewels amongst the other green leaves.

photo

photo

photo

photo
It was so picturesque and we were even lucky to get a little bit of sunshine as well. It as then off to Zionsville to show Liz a deliciously quaint American village that was currently all set for Halloween.
photo
photo

photo
It also included having a quick pit stop at a lovely cafe and we got to watch people watch for a while. There was then a time warp trip into the Chirstmas shop. I felt like I had been fast-forwarded to Christmas and usually I rebel at stepping into one of these untill November, at the very least. However, this was charming and it is beginning to feel like Fall and a little smidgen of that Winter feeling has crept in. We manage to get some Christmas tree decorations then it was back home to have a quick rest, bowl of pasta and get ready to go out.

We made it out, but not for long. Unfortunately there was no band on in the Rathskeller. I hope Liz doesn’t think I made up the great nights we have had there! It is always a worry when things don’t go to plan. Yet things looked up when we stopped at the Ball and Biscuit, which is a rustically classy cocktail bar.

photo

photo
I enjoyed a Deaths Door Mule, luke a G&T and Liz got a Sidecar. With our one drink finished we all admitted defeat and went back to watch The Golden Girls. I am getting old! Just give me good company, maybe a hot chocolate and some good food and it appears that this is all I need for a good night. I may have to re-submerge myself into going on nights when I return to the UK. Either that or give up and buy some slippers.

Yet, I didn’t mind the next morning as hangover free we strolled to Hoaglin for a yummy brunch thanks to the even lovelier Liz. I don’t know what I am going to do again when she goes home! We had bagels, egg white omelette and a huge stack of Colts blue blueberry pancakes. I think I can safely say Liz was impressed. With a lovely fulled up feeling we went next door to a very different bakery. The Dog Bakery. Here I may have brought a little something for my parents dog (but that is to be kept quiet untill Christmas!).

photo
It was then off to the cinema where I wanted Liz to experience the different atmosphere in the audiences. Unfortunately, and I can’t believe this happened, we were the only ones in the cinema. That’s right, we had our own private screening of ‘I Don’t Know How She Does It’. At least we didn’t have to worry about disturbing anyone as we happily rustled our pretzel wrappers and talked about the benefits of to-do lists. I am forever making them and then having to rewrite them when I have missed something off!

After a lovely film we explored the local shops and our noses found heaven in the Yankee Candle store. Luke disappeared with the Camaro and we never saw it again. Luckily we did see Luke again but he returned in a Jeep. So another car bites the dust it would appear.

Leave a Reply

