That Mile Is Magnificent


After not sleeping very well, due to being in bed to early and for some reason somebody thought it was a good idea to drill at an insanely early hour, I stumbled down to breakfast in a daze that even toast and a bagel couldn’t banish. However, as soon as we made it outside I was woken up by the crisp fresh air mixed with the glorious sunshine. It was the perfect scarf and sunglasses weather. We made it to the metro without the need for assistance and we arrived in shopping heaven! It was spectacular and if I ever get any more money I shall be making a swift return to this particular mile.

photo
We began our shopping with a stop at Walgreens to buy some bits for later to go with our nibbles. Liz found some crisps and wraps. I was able to locate some brown rice sushi. Packed lunch in tow we began our jaunt along the mile by visiting a very shiny Bloomingdales.
photo
Then we worked our way down to Macys and the American Girl Place.

photo
photo
The latter was a place I wish I had discovered when I was younger. They even had a street for the American girls that came with its own hair salon for the dolls!

photo
I would have been a nightmare in this shop when I was little and I am sure I would have asked for at least half of the dolls. Now I just want to have all of the bags in Macys. Then we made a pit stop and enjoyed our perfect little feast sat on the steps belonging to Chicago’s old water tower, which was once the city’s tallest building but is now dwarfed by all of the others. We spent a good hour or so jsut soaking up some sun, enjoying our nibbles and taking in Chicago’s electric atmosphere.

photo
photo

photo
photo
The problem of having far too many choices proved to be a continuing theme as we ventured into Ghiradelli‘s chocolate shop.

photo
My word! It was nicer than the one in San Francisco. They had so many different flavours it sent my head in a bit of a spin but I managed to grab some dark and sea salt flavoured squares for a treat. We then had a completely different, yet still chocolatey, experience in the Hershey’s store.
photo

photo
I resisted the biggest bar of Hersheys as I don’t really like their normal chocolate,it is not quite Cadbury or Green and Blacks. However, it was more heart wrenching to leave this box of Reece’s Peanut Butter Cups behind.

photo
I managed to do it but only because of the prospect of visiting Topshop. It was like a brief visit back to England! I hadn’t realised how much I had missed some of the more normal things I used to take for advantage in England such as certain shops. It was very sparkly and colourful. A sharp contrast to the next store of H&M which was more conservative and a little bit more me yet not my wallets so we headed over to the Disney store for a regression into the past. We bopped around to the Disney songs and resisted buying all of the cuddly toys. I tore Liz away from Toy Story‘s pig and a few decorations and we tried to find our way home with a stop to say hello to Marilyn Monroe along the way.

photo
Getting back proved to be absolutely impossible! and no it is not just me who gets lost we both do, repeatedly as it turns out. This means we are now not listening to each other for directions but double checking with somebody else first, just to be on  the safe side. We managed to end up in what we thought was the wrong place only to have to return a little later because we had been right, sort of. This took us so long that on the first bit we walked past a shop that had no windows but when we returned it had been completely boarded up! Well at least the workmen found our predicament hilarious. We, unsurprisingly, did not as it took us an hour and a half to walk what should have been a quick ten minute journey. Words fail me and my feet almost did.

Yet we knew we were safe when we got to Molly’s and Liz picked up a couple of cupcakes to sooth her sweet tooth and we ordered a packed lunch from the Meatloaf Bakery tomorrow. We then went back to rest our feet before we had to return to the Magnificent Mile. I just hope we can find our way back a little bit more easily. We now have three maps so we should be ok. I think.

Leave a Reply

