Two Hundred and Thirty-Four Squares


Now I know the information about my quilt making antics is on my ‘ Making and Baiking..”etc page but it has been a huge labour of love so I thought I would do a quick post about it.I have literally lost tears (frustration), blood (jabbing myself with needles)  and sweat (sitting in near 100 farenheit sewing is not a pretty sight) to turn these little squares into something that I will treasure for ever.

I started off with a crazy idea of doing something that I considered ‘traditionally’ American and make a patchwork quilt from hand with just a needle and thread. Sounds a lot, and I mean a lot, easier than it was.

I then made a trip to Granmma Fannie’s Quilting Barn and I discovered the material that I wanted to use. I followed a loose plan as I was a novice.

photo
Turns out the plan wasn’t that helpful so I spent the first few days arranging the squares into the correct piles according to a picture that came on the front of the package. Not an easy task! I think one or two may have slipped into the wrong place but that just adds to the homemade feel… doesn’t it?

photo
I then began sewing the squares together. First I made the rows of eighteen and then began to attach them together untill there were thirteen lines.
photo

One row took about two hours. Then  attaching them to another row took a further hour (ish, depending on other distractions occasionally the Kardashians made me lose time. Oops!)

photo
The glee I felt as I sewed on the two hundred and thirty-fourth square. It very nearly caused me to do a victory sewing dance. Almost. I may have tapped my foot a bit.
photo

photo
Then I almost didn’t make it to the end of these quilt making shenanigans as I had to work out where the various borders went. This took me quite a while to decide what looked better.
photo

photo
And then which side should which bit to?

photo
However, I had  a quiet consultation with myself and this was the end result for the border
photo

photo
This whole sewing process was fidley and lengthy. As you can probably imagine it would be  when you see the two hundred and thirty-four small squares, which I never want to have to sew together again.
It was also painful when I consistently stuck needles into various fingers. I nearly lost a thumb, or two.
photo

photo
Also, depending on my state of mind it was either frustrating or soothing. The latter didn’t always occur but i persevered. I knew it was an investment for the next time Luke stole the duvet and I was freezing. Now, no longer will I suffer from cold feet and Luke will no longer endure the sharp jabs to the ribs. However, he did get quite a few needles stuck in his foot after I had misplaced them, ouch! But no, from now I will have my own handmade quilt! If I can bear to use it! I may be too worried about spilling anything on it!

For now I am just pleased and immensely satisfied that I have achieved something that hasn’t turned out too shabby. Now, how on earth will I get this back to the UK? Do you think if I wore it as a shrug someone will notice?

photo
4 comments

Leave a Reply

