LAX


So the adventure begins. For me it began far too early! We got up before five am and this lack of sleep started to show when I almost set fire to a pop tart! Not a good sign. However, I persevered with getting us organised, or trying to, and we rolled on down to meet Dan in the parking lot as he had kindly offered to give us a lift. We made it to the airport, travel pillows in tow, and waited to board the plane.

photo
We got our first short fight to Memphis, where I saw a few cowboy hats but no white suited impersonators. Although I’m not sure whether this is a good thing or not.

photo
We then had to get our connection to LAX after seeing the news about another plane crash. Just what you want to see before stepping foot onto a plane and the flight proved to be long, bumpy and overcrowded. Yet on the bright side, I was able to read one of my books and I did get to see this amazing view.

photo
As well as sampling Delta’s finest pretzels. Yum.

We finally landed in LA and managed to jump in a taxi and, after some intense negotiating with a taxi man who had limited English, we made it to Hotel Erwin on Venice Beach. Yet after seeing this sight on the boardwalk,

photo
which was a little disconcerting, I began to wonder what sort of place this was. I was not in Indiana anymore! I am still wondering where were the shoe’s owners? Does this happen a lot in LA?I tried not to think about this. We had arrived too early to check in so we left our luggage in the quirky lobby and descended on Abbot Kinney, which is a ‘hip’ district I had researched. It certainly puts the hip in hippy! It has a very friendly, bohemian feel to it and there are lots of boutique places that I will have to venture into on another day. We made it to Lilly’s French Cafe about five hours too early for our  previous booking as we had decided to have lunch there instead of dinner. This was because we were feeling a bit jet lagged due to the time delay. Lillys was a lovely french restaurant where the waiters were actually speaking french. There was a lovely calm feel to the place and it had a quaint courtyard dining area, at the back of the more swanky restaurant, and this is where we sat. I can imagine that it would be lovely all lit up at night by the various string of fairy lights along the walls.
photo
We had gazpacho and soup, then an egg white omelet
photo
and steak and chips.

photo
The food was just what we needed after a morning of travel and I felt like I have had a vegetable overload.

We said au revoir to Lillys and made our way onto the famous Venice Beach. I can definitely understand where it has gotten its reputation from. As we strolled along there were various shops and an assortment of stalls lining the boardwalk;

photo

photo

photo
photo
photo

photo

photo

photo

photo

photo
There was a glorious beach with tumultuous waves and there was an eclectic mix of people, which ranged from a man on his trike, a woman power walking in a bikini, body builders and a glittery Jesus figure wandering around.

photo
We found out that the latter was taking part in the LMFAO music video , which we got to see being made although I don’t think we managed a walk on cameo. Ron Jeremy (warning- please do not google him as he is an adult movie star!)was also in the music video although I had no idea who he was until Luke explained. Umm. He swears it is because he appeared in an episode of a cartoon.
photo

photo

photo
After acting like a pair of stalkers by following the music video crew around for a bit, nearly being run over by motor-biking policemen, seeing more than should be seen at muscle beach and walking along the sand we returned to Hotel Erwin to see if we could get into our room yet. After a tiny bit of a wait we were successful and the room was lovely. Very quirky and we can see the sea from our balcony. We even have a sunglasses rack!

photophoto
The downside of the room is that I am currently sat in front of a delicious hamper of goodies and trying to resist due the high price that comes with it.
photo

photo
Oh and our toilet had just overflowed but apart from that it is all fantastic as a tall tanned man with a slick , black ponytail has just fixed it. I hope! On the positive, the weather is much nicer because we get to enjoy the sea breeze as well. Finally! I feel a bit of relief from the humidity of Indianapolis.
It was even cooler as we ventured out in the evening. We saw a beautiful sunset

photo

photo
and some amazing feats on the roller skating area.

photo

photo

We then dipped our feet into the atlantic

photo

photo
and I struggled to get my shoes on whilst trying to avoid getting them sandy.
photo
Needless to say I wasn’t successful and their is now a small sand deposit on our balcony (I say balcony, but it is actually very narrow and you can just about stand on it). We also managed to bump into the filming crew again and Luke managed to take this shot of his hero Ron Jeremy
photo
(parents and grandparents of the LuLu’s I apologise for this topic!).
We are now off to celebrate our holiday with a toast on the hotels rooftop bar. Cheers!

photo


2 comments

    • Thank you `;) It’s great here. If you can reccommend anything to do or where to go please let me know! We are heading down the west coast on Friday as well. Can’t wait.
      Ps I always feel that way when I am at work!

Leave a Reply

