Edible Goodies (with a few punches thrown in)


My week has certainly been filled up by a variety of bootcamps, dinosaurs, markets, cooking and sewing. The bootcamp included running around by the side of the canal, like a loon, when all the medical people were sat outside having their lunch and enjoying the sunshine. I was tempted to join them, as I had to run up some stone blocks for the third time, but no. I had to remain focused and I was there voluntarily so I had no-one to blame but myself. I was also a bit worried when one of the ladies said they liked my knickers. I had a horrible , sinking feeling that I really had gone out without putting my trousers on first. I am always worried I will do that and ensure I check I have everything on and in the right place before I leave. So, I was horrified when I heard this. I double checked and was greatly relieved that yes, my trousers were indeed still there. No need to run for the nearest bush to hide just yet then. However, It then clicked that she must mean my trousers (I am still struggling with some  ‘basic’ words that have completely different meanings). Phew! embarrassment averted. Nearly. I still had to finish the class in front of all the outdoor picnickers and Judo press ups are certainly not the most flattering thing to be doing. Anywhere.

On Wednesday, I had an enjoyable day (after being unable to locate the bootcamp class in the morning no matter how many times I wondered around the monument aimlessly and quite lost) volunteering at dinsophere. I was in charge of the welcome ramp and informing people about the Supercroc, which still scares me! However, I think the message about crocodiles was lost once they heard my accent. Instead, some people decided I was the attraction and began to play ‘ guess the accent’ with some encouraging their children to. What is worse is that no-one guessed British! No, apparently I sound either South African or Australian. Unbelievable, especially when I later watched an American actor playing an English Paleo Artist and everyone guessed he was from Britain. Hugh Grant has a lot to answer for! My day was then topped off with a trip to Broad Ripple Market, which gave us a chance to go for a bit of a cruise in our convertible (this way of living is so surreal). The market was a lot smaller than Indy’s but we still managed to be given ten Quail eggs for free!

photo
I then had to go and explore what to do with these so I asked for help on twitter and Good Food gave me a great recipe for a tortilla
photo

(please check:  https://lhgardener1988.wordpress.com/making-and-baking/ ).

Afterwards, we made a new discovery in the form of a new haven known as The Fresh Market. Picture an non-sterile, un-clinical and an enticing soothing version of Waitrose and that is pretty much a spot on description of this wonder. There was barrels of goodies everywhere, including sweets and coffee beans.

photo


On top of this, our shopping was soothed by the sound of classical music. It was amazing! I really think I have an addiction to finding new shops I haven’t been to but can you blame me? Just look what goodies they have!

photo
photo
photo
photo
photo
They even had wasabi peanuts!
photo
On Thursday, I felt a smidgen of sympathy for my fellow bootcampers as Nikhil and Luke descended on the group. It must have felt like the Rolls Royce lot were taking over. Luke and I had a good therapy session sparring , although I did feel a pang of guilt at the thought of trying to hit him but that quickly passed. Meanwhile, the whole class kept bursting into sporadic bouts of laughter as everyone tried to find out where they were meant to be and Todd (the instructor) had to work out what we should do as there were so many of us. The earlier class had been amusing as well, especially when Todd told the group to move anti-clockwise, cue everyone stopping and trying to work out which way that meant! I am glad I wasn’t the only one who was confused by this!

Friday’s morning class went considerably smoother. I then decided to prepare for the meal for everyone tonight. I became submerged in Quail egg tortillas and dark chocolate frosted cupcakes. I just hope they like the food! We shall see after another bootcamp class. I must be mad! but looking at those cupcakes I don’t think I can resist them so bootcamp is a necessity. Then I will claim my cupcake reward.

photo
Leave a Reply

