Indiana weekends.


We have been looking forward to this weekend all week. As we do every week, but this one is even more special because it is a long weekend in Indy. This is on account of the ‘Anti-British Day’, or more formerly known as Independence Day. The run-up to the weekend contained one passport incident courtesy of Dan who was in Chicago without his passport, which he needed for an upcoming flight. Turns out, you cannot travel by plane between states in America without one. Luke managed to gain access to his flat, get into his car , retrieve the passport and post it to Dan. Nothing illegal of course, it was all assisted by the janitor. There was also a lot of flour involved, due to my crazy idea to bake numerous loaves of bread (please see Growing, Making and Baking page). So, while a lot of people my age spend money on clothes and drinks I spend mine on flour and baking powder! However , once I had dug my way out of the  flour, with my new cup styled sieve, and dusted myself off I managed to head to the gym and sauna. It’s a hard life but I am struggling through it.

After a quiet night on friday, I started my Saturday morning off by singing ‘Happy Birthday’ to my Nana. It was a little less embarrassing singing it to her answer phone machine, and not directly to her but still, she has sung to me 23 times now so it was about time I returned the favour. We then headed out. Well we tried to and were greeted by a full lift. After a brief chat with its occupants, which started off by the man in the lift saying “Hello, how are you guys doing?” and “Nice weather”, we  waited and managed to get the next lift. I was then told that my outfit was ‘adorable’ by a passing dog walker which was nice as we headed to the farmers market. I was very excited to show Luke the market as he has never been. However, he still has never been as, for some reason, no-one was there. It was a bit eerie. Oh well, this twist of fate led us to a car/ military display near the library.

photo
photo
We even got to ‘drive’ a helicopter!

photo
photo
Just look how happy Luke is at that!. Unfortunately, the parts for the helicopter are made by his rivals but he still looked content. We also got to chat to the pilot who informed us that he thought English beer was better than German. Good compliment to English beer! He also commented that he and his comrades got in trouble in Scotland as there was a pub every five footsteps in the town where they were staying. I can just imagine the carnage. He is also now going to try driving the helicopter in flip-flops just before he retires, thanks to Luke’s footwear. I’m not so sure it is a good idea though.

I managed to drag luke away and we ventured into the library to pick up yet more DVDs. It is better than Blockbusters!. It has also got lots of contraptions for shorter people. Perfect for me!

photo

photo

We then went to the Flying Cupcake Bakery , which was open again . We couldn’t resist and shared a Razamatazz.
photo

photo
It was delicious, gooey, raspberry flavoured chocolate delight with a splodge of pink frosting on the top. It was lush and I am determined to work my way through the entire menu. Not all in one day but over the next few months.This cupcake was a reward for signing up for the Firecraker 6 run on monday. Maybe a little bit pre-emptive me thinks! I shall just have to get another one on Monday for a proper reward or we will actually be running past Yougulatte. Maybe I can be the righteous one this time? Although , it may mess up my overall time.  But it would be worth it, surely.

We explored a bit of Mass Ave in the afternoon and I showed Luke the Dog Bakery. There are more photos on my ‘favourite photos’ page, but this particular one made me laugh out loud. Much to the annoyance of the Sales Advisor. Though I have to admit, it is quite clever.

photo
Luke also made a new friend. He is starting to get lots of new friends on Mass Ave.
photo
I was a bit worried about him when he insisted someone was inside. I had to explain it was a clever recording to fool people. People like him. Bless.

Yet he showed he is actually very clever , later on, when he took me for dinner at the Saffron Cafe.

photo
We were greeted by a man playing a Moroccan guitar type thing , cozy atmosphere, aromatic smells and lots of lovely candle lanterns dotted around the restaurant. Our servers were very friendly, almost overly, but it was nice to see how much they knew about the food. We shared Falafel , even though the server had said to Luke that he bet he would eat all of it!. Then Luke had a melt-in-the-mouth Lamb tajine
photo
and I had a flavoursome couscous dish.

photo
I couldn’t finish mine because it was huge so I got a take out. Luke went on to manage a huge sponge version of cheesecake. I tried a little bit (there is always room for a bit of pudding) and it was lovely and light.
photo
Afterwards, we took our box of couscous
photo
to another bar and sat outside with a drink. It was lovely as , even in the nighttime, you are enveloped in warmth. However, lightning began to strike and we made a dash for it home. I was not going to risk my couscous. It is going to be my dinner today so we had to get it home safely. We got home safely and then I slept peacefully throughout the night. On the other hand, I have just been informed by Luke that he had spent a few hours cowering underneath the duvet as the room was illuminated by lightning and the wind was howling so much he was worried about tornadoes. I have no idea what was in my couscous but I had a wonderful, undisturbed sleep!
One comment

Leave a Reply

